Skip to content

The IG is a cross-agency group chaired by leaders in the Public Service. The group aims to increase the effectiveness of Public Service by strengthening the leadership of the government data system.

What is the Information Group?

The Information Group advises from a system-wide perspective on how government can better unlock the value of the information it holds on behalf of citizens. It is chaired by the Deputy Statistician and Deputy Chief Executive Data System Leadership, Statistics New Zealand.


The purpose of the Information Group is to provide strategic leadership across the Public Service in support of the Government Chief Data Steward (GCDS), in its role to:

  • oversee the development and implementation of a data strategy for the Public Service
  • support the use of data as a resource across government, while maintaining trust and confidence, for the benefit of all New Zealanders
  • provide oversight and strategic advice to guide system investment in data.

Who can be involved?

Membership of the Group should be senior officials who can represent the views of their agency and represent the interests of the wider system (typically Tier 2, or potentially Tier 3 professionals for larger agencies). Members will represent their wider sectors or be data leaders in the system. Decisions involving resources and funding will require individual agency or collective DGLG approval.

Membership should represent:

  • sectors: health, justice, education, social, business, environmental, government (via functional leads)
  • significant data users and data providers.

Which agencies are currently represented?

Members are made up of senior officials from the following agencies:

  • Statistics New Zealand (Chair)
  • Archives NZ
  • Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment
  • Ministry of Education
  • Ministry for the Environment
  • Ministry of Health
  • Housing and Urban Development
  • Department of Internal Affairs
  • Inland Revenue
  • Ministry of Justice
  • Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet
  • Public Service Commission
  • Ministry for Social Development
  • Social Wellbeing Agency
  • Land Information NZ
  • Te Puni Kokiri
  • The Treasury

How to find out more?

To learn more, you can read the Information Group's terms of reference.

The Information Group's terms of reference

Contact us

If you’d like more information, have a question, or want to provide feedback, email

Content last reviewed 22 April 2021.