Skip to content

Data Ethics Advisory Group members

Currently, the Data Ethics Advisory Group contains the following 8 members.

Professor Juliet Gerrard (Chair)

Prime Minister’s Chief Science Advisor and Professor in Biological Sciences at the University of Auckland

Professor Gerrard is a Professor at the University of Auckland with a broad range of expertise across scientific disciplines and experience in governance.  She has served as the Prime Minister's Chief Science Advisor, Kaitohutohu Mātanga Pūtaiao Matua ki te Pirimia, since July 2018 and is committed to open, collaborative, transparent and accessible processes in all apsects of the role.

She enjoys facilitating conversations across disciplines and ways of thinking to build consensus.​ 

Juliet Gerrard on LinkedIn

Dr Amohia Boulton

Director of Whakaue Research Services, Adjunct Professor Faculty of Health and Environmental Services at AUT

Dr Boulton is considered a leader in the field of Māori health services. She is a Visiting Senior Research Fellow at Victoria University of Wellington.

Amohia Boulton on LinkedIn

Dr Ang Jury

Chief Executive of Women’s Refuge

Dr Jury has worked in the area of family violence for more than 20 years, as a Collective member, volunteer worker, a Refuge Manager, and doctoral researcher.

In her role as Chief Executive, Dr Jury has been a key contributor to the data and information policies (including data sharing) of Oranga Tamariki, the Ministry of Social Development, and the Ministry of Justice.

Ang has also been a key member of the Data Protection and Use Policy working group, tasked with guiding the development of principles and guidelines for the safe and respectful use of people's information in the social sector.

Ang Jury on LinkedIn

Dr Nessa Lynch

Associate Professor of Law at Victoria University of Wellington

Dr Lynch is a member of the Law Commission’s Expert Advisory Group on the review of DNA legislation (providing advice on human rights, ethics, privacy, information sharing, and the governance of a databank of personal data).

She also leads a project on the legal and ethical parameters of the use of facial recognition technology in New Zealand.

Nessa Lynch on LinkedIn 

Dr Will Koning

Chief Data Officer of Kantar 

Dr Koning is a member of global forums: the I-Com Chief Analytics and Chief Data Officer Council and the I-Com Artificial Intelligence Council.

At Kantar (the parent company of Colmar Brunton and TNS), Dr Koning is responsible for big data analytics and data-driven strategy consulting. He has a PhD in mathematical modelling and biological complexity from University College London.

Will Koning on LinkedIn

Kirikowhai Mikaere

Tuhourangi, Ngāti Whakaue

Ms Mikaere is a leading Māori data and information specialist focused on harnessing information to empower iwi, hapū, whānau, and community development. She is a consultant with over 17 years experience advising Ministers, government agencies, tribal, community, and private sector organisations with practical statistical analysis and innovative indigenous place-based data solutions.

With a bi-cultural education and upbringing, intensive technical training, and hands-on experience with diverse communities, Ms Mikaere brings a unique perspective to development opportunities. She is also the lead technical advisor to the Iwi (Tribal) Chairs Forum — Data Leadership Group, a member of the Kāhui Māori Group for the National Science Challenge: Science for Technological Innovation, and deputy chair of the Māori hauora (health and social service) provider Manaaki Ora Trust.

Kate O’Connor

Executive Manager of the AUT Ethics Committee

Ms O’Connor is a member of various working groups, including groups to develop the National Ethics Advisory Committee Ethical Standard for Research, the Ethical and Professional Standards for the Royal Society, and the development of the National Research Charter for New Zealand.

Kate O'Connor on LinkedIn

Professor Colin Simpson

Associate Dean of Research and Innovation, Faculty of Health at Victoria University of Wellington

Professor Simpson is a trained epidemiologist working in the field of population health sciences and medical informatics carrying out internationally recognised research to improve the health and wellbeing of patients and populations.

He is also a member of the Advisory Board for the UK Research and Surveillance Centre.

Colin Simpson on LinkedIn

Contact us

If you have any questions or feedback, email us at

Content last reviewed: 08 September 2020